Posted by: pafmurray | June 30, 2017

Should Mayor Denis Coderre and Minister Martin Coiteux be proud of themselves?

Op-Ed submission:

Murray Levine
12:15 PM (45 minutes ago)

to opinion
In 1996 and in 2017 flooding hit Quebec. In 1996 the Red Cross raised over $20 ($29 million+ in 2017 dollars) million for flood relief. In 2017 only $8.6 million was raised.

WHY SUCH A HUGE DIFFERENCE? PERHAPS THE ANSWER IS BELOW?

The following fax was sent:

Early August/1996

Pierre Peladeau
CEO
Quebecor Inc.

Dear M. Peladeau,

If the Saguenay-Lac St Jean flood would have been in Israel, the next day 20 Montreal Jews would have each reached into their pockets and sent $1 million each to Israel for flood relief.

When Federation Combined Jewish Appeal approached the 110,000 member Montreal Jewish community, they raised $42 million. When Centraide went to the 3.4 million population of Greater Montreal, including the 110,000 Jews, they also raised $42 million!

The median annual receipted charitable contribution of a Quebec tax filer who gave a receipted contribution in the last year for which there are stats, was only 44% of that of 9th place/poorer New Brunswick.

The Quebecois are very good with their hands stretched out palm up, BUT they are not very good with reaching into their pockets and finding anything to give.

The goal of the Red Cross, as announced today is $2.3 million for flood relief in the Saguenay. I would like to ask you to make out a cheque in that amount. I will pick it up at your earliest convenience. Quite honestly, I do not expect to hear from you, but I have been wrong before and I am confident that I will be wrong again.

Murray Levine

The next day as I drove back from Ottawa and reached Vankleek Hill I turned on CJAD for the 20:00 news. The newscaster announced that Pierre Peladeau had donated $1 million for flood relief. I laughed!

Upon arriving at my sister’s home in DDO, I phoned my answering machine and was amused to hear the voice of the late Pierre Peladeau: “Murray Levine; Pierre Peladeau, Thank you very much for your very charming, very humourous letter. I am calling to let you know that I am giving $1 million, that’s one million to Saguenay, Lac St Jean, Jonquiere…… Its not the first time I do this. I do this many times before. I am going to send off letters of that nature to others who can afford to give million dollar donations as well.”

Over $20 million was raised. . I have 0 idea what my turning Pierre P into a fundraiser brought in, but as a charity activist I had a blast writing that letter.

The Red Cross informed me at the end of June that $8.6 million was raised for the benefit of the victims of the recent flooding in QC. To put it into perspective, in 2017 dollars about $30 million was raised in 1996

Quebec is the worse province/state for charitable giving in Canada/USA. It is also the worst province in Canada for volunteerism. The problem is sociological. Self-centered society? Perhaps. I am too busy to bother checking.

Mayor Denis Coderre, Security Minister Martin Coiteux and some other politicians have ignored my requests that they actually get off of their rear ends and do something positive to bring about change for the better. I asked them to cycle in Le Tour de l’Ile de Montreal, and raise $$ for the Red Cross BUT more important than that I asked them to encourage ALL Montrealers to join them and raise funds as well! As long as the Quebecois do not enjoy the personal satisfaction of doing good things, they will never rid themselves of having the dubious distinction of being the least charitable group in Canada/USA.

Let it be on their consciences of Coderre, Coiteux and the others that I approached that they did nothing EXCEPT be there for the photo ops. Please note that I highly doubt that these people even possess a conscience, and my faith in humanity to even recognize that, unfortunately is close to nil!

* * * * *

IF YOU THINK THAT MAYOR CODERRE, MINISTER COITEUX SHOULD SEE THIS POST PLEASE SEND IT TO THEM AND ASK THEM BOTH WHY THEY DID NOT RISE TO THE OCCASION: maire@ville.montreal.qc.ca, Martin.Coiteux.NELL@assnat.qc.ca

Leave a Reply

Categories

