Posted by: pafmurray | February 18, 2010

THE POLICE THREATENED TO ARREST ME!!!!

NO JOKE! 😮

Yesterday a.m., I demonstrated in St. Laurent (St. Louis/Marcel Laurin).

After rush hour, I walked the 1.5 blocks to St. Laurent Borough Hall, went in and told the receptionist to advise the Borough Mayor’s secretary that if she wished to see my signs I would be outside.

As I stood outside holding my signs I noticed a police car driving  on the other side of the street. Its cherries lit up and it did a U turn and of course I laughed because we have soldiers dying in Afghanistan so that we will continue to have basic freedoms, like freedom of expression.

Considering the fact that I demonstrate in order to get politicians doing what is best in the interest of humanity, it is amusing when the police see the need to have a presence when someone such as myself exerts their democratic rights, as guaranteed by Canada’s Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

As I stood there with the police out came the by-law officer, a security guard and another person from borough hall. The by-law officer informed me that the wording on the sign broke a St. Laurent by-law. I asked to be ticketed and advised that I would fight the ticket.

I was advised that there was no ticket and that I could be arrested. I then said “So arrest me!” The police advised that if I did it again that I would be arrested.

Upon reaching a phone, I called up Beryl Wacjsman, Editor of The Suburban Newspaper. Beryl happens to be a lawyer/activist and told him what happened. He immediately replied that “The law is an ass.”

Here is the part of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms that deals with demonstrating. Notice what it says about opinion and freedom of expression:

2. Everyone has the following fundamental freedoms:

(a) freedom of conscience and religion;
(b) freedom of thought, belief, opinion and expression, including freedom of the press and other media of communication;
(c) freedom of peaceful assembly; and
(d) freedom of association.

Last yr when I required a legal interpretation on anti-Strategic Lawsuits Against Public Participation, I called upon a past-Dean of Law of McGill. I contacted him recently on another matter and he was helpful as well. I look forward to his input on this matter.

I also contacted a lawyer friend whose area of expertise is “Human Rights”  and left a message asking him what could be done to have the law struck, as it is an obvious infringement of the charter.

It is absurd that any level of government can take away rights supposedly enshrined. It makes the Charter absolutely irrelevant and makes a mockery of our democracy.

NEWS FLASH: One of my legal advisers has just  informed me that I can have this law rendered unconstitutional through what is known as a “declaratory judgement”. I will meet later in the day to discuss/commence the procedure.

*               *               *               *               *

On the good news side, yesterday I met with the Canadian Red Cross. They liked my fund-raising ideas and at the very least 60,000 Quebeckers (donors) will be invited to cycle/run for the benefit of the victims of disasters. I expect that the same will be done throughout Canada.

I was also advised that individuals have answered my call and will be cycling in Le Tour to raise $$ for charity.

Murray Levine

National Coordinator (Volunteer)

No More GST for the Entire Public Healthcare Sector   http://nogst.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

Categories

